of the Brain

The Unknown Capability

by Chris Kok

Did you know that most of our disorders and diseases are actually self-manifested and that our thoughts and attitude plays a key role? In fact, the daily problems and issues that we face is a result of our own thoughts and attitude. There is strong evidence that ancient civilization knew about this and most of the teachings and practices of the ancient world had incorporated health care into its rituals to help cultivate a healthy mind.

Figure 1: similarities between the “Eye of Horus”(on the left of the photo above) and the Thalamic region of the brain (on the right of the photo above).

Understand the Brain and the powerful impact it has on one's life. 

Evidence now suggests that even the ancient Egyptians knew of the importance of the brain and held intricate information about the anatomy of the Brain.The ancient Egyptian symbol known as the “Eye of Horus” was known to be the symbol of protection, royal power and good health.

Horus was the ancient Egyptians’ “Sun God”. If we examine the Eye of Horus, one cannot deny the striking resemblance it has with the Thalamic region of the brain – refer to Fig 1 and 2. Modern thinking actually blinded explorers for a long period of time because it was assumed that ancient Egyptians could not have possessed such advance knowledge.


In recent times, ancient theorists began to find astounding evidence that suggests that ancient civilizations held advance knowledge of the human body (apart from technology, astronomy, medical procedures etc).


Figure 2: Horus is not merely a ritualistic symbol for the God of Sun as previously theorised. In the above, the Eye of Horus gives a clear depiction of the vital part of a human’s brain encompassin the Corpus Collosum, the Thalamus, the Medulla Oblongata and the Hypothalamus.

When was the last time you felt really happy and jubilated?
Was it the time when you received a special gift from that special someone?
The day your spouse softly whispered in your ears the three magical words of “I love you”?

The day you received the promotion you were aiming for?


It turns out, most of us live our lives seeking external factors to determine our happiness. What is most worrying is that the emotional state of people these days are easily affected by external factors often leading to feelings of sadness, disappointment, frustration, grief, anger, anxiety, worriness and depression. We get emotionally disturbed with the things people say to us, the actions of others and the inactions of others.

In the modern society today, many people find themselves less capable of managing their own emotional state. It is like everyone has given away their mind’s remote controller and that remote controller is being used by others to control their mind and feelings. If you have done the same, then it is no wonder that you feel upset when someone says something that you don’t agree with and you get motivated only when someone praises you. It is time you regain control over your own emotions. You need to understand yourself in order to live happily – look internally for your own happiness; not externally!


Do not blame others for your state of emotion because it is you and how you manage your thoughts that decides how you feel. We get the same revelation when we examine one of the oldest sacred texts in the world today – the Vedas (dating 1000 – 500 BCE), which are written in Vedic Sanskrit and is followed by practitioners of Hinduism.

The Vedas form the core of Hinduism. To understand the relation between Hinduism and the human brain, we would need to understand the intricate teachings of the Vedas concerning the Navagrahas. Navagrahas is known to be the cosmic influencer of living beings. According to the Navagrahas, there are nine influencers which are related to the nine cosmic stars, i.e. Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Sun, Moon, as well as positions in the sky; north or ascending lunar node and south or descending lunar node. Each of these stars are represented by a God – Surya, Chandra, Mangala, Budha, Guru, Shukra, Shani, Rahu and Ketu.

If we set aside the spiritual aspects of the Vedas and understand the meanings from a scientific angle, the nine influencers of the Navagrahas was actually a representation of the nine vital parts of our brain. It is theorised that the ancient Vedics decided to name these nine parts of the brain with names of Gods so that its importance could be personified. The nine parts of the brain comprise the Thalamus, the Hypothalamus, the Subthalamus, the Putamen, the Amygdala, the Globus Pallidus, the Subtantia Nigra, the Nucleus Caudatus (head) and the Nucleus Caudatus (tail) – refer to Fig 3.

  • Facebook

Science & Wellness Organisation © 

Contact Us

+012 7335575

If you have any queries, please feel free to contact us